My first job: Franco Zeffirelli 15/09/2010

Monday 13/09/2010, my first day of work, looking forward to a year of new and interesting experiences. Well, let’s just say that my first one was pretty interesting. My dad tells me that I will be going with cameraman Mark Brewer to be soundo for an interview with Italian film director Franco Zeffirelli. Initially I didn’t know who he was, but I quickly corrected my ignorance by researching him and finding out just how much of a bigshot he is. I was very nervous because it was my first “assignment” and I was very afraid of screwing up.

On the 15/09/2010 we picked up the journalist who was doing the story and drove to Zeffirelli’s villa in the Appia Antica, in the outskirts of Rome.

The house was amazing, there where rooms with different themes, rooms filled with marble statues and amazing gardens with chinese fountains, exotic plants and a swimming pool.

The interview took place in his office, a room decorated with film awards, photos with famous actors and actresses such as Sophia Loren and Elizabeth Taylor, photos with the Queen, and letters from the Pope, in short it was pretty impressive. The cameraman and I were both very nervous, so we didn’t hear much of the interview because we were concentrating very hard on our jobs.

Fortunately nothing went wrong, and the journalist was very happy with both of our work. 😀

For my first experience it was pretty cool, I’m looking forward to the next.

Brendan

~ by brendo91 on 15/09/2010.

Leave a Reply

 
